Wednesday, March 11, 2009

UAE - A Glimpse Into History

United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation of seven statues (known as "emirates") located in the Middle East. It is situated on the Persian Gulf in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula. The constituent states/ emirates are - Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Ajman, Sharjah, Fujairah, Ras Al Khaimah and Umm Al Quwain. Before 1971, with reference to a truce between a amount of Arab sheikhs and Britain in the nineteenth century, the UAE was known as the Trucial States or Trucial Oman.

The United Arab Emirates originates from sheikhdoms of the Middle Eastern region which were essentially tribal in their organization. The expanse became Islamic way rear in the 7th century. In 16th century, however, the Ottoman Empire went on to control the region directly. Eventually, due to the notorious raiders in the zone in spite of the strict vigil of both Arab and European navies, the place became popular (read notorious!) as the Pirate Coast.

In the 19th century, there were extensive British expeditions in order to curb the nuisance of raiders from the region. Consequently, a peace treaty was signed between all the sheikhs and the British in 1853. As per the truce, the sheikhs agreed to "perpetual maritime truce". The United Kingdom begined looking after settling disputes among the sheikhs. Thus the region acquired the name "Trucial Sheikhdoms".

Another treaty followed in the year 1892, according to which the sheikhs agreed to the following terms:

They would not dispose of any territory, except to the United Kingdom.

They would not enter into any kind of relationship with foreign governments, except with the United Kingdom or without the latter's consent.

In return, the British had to pdecayect the Trucial Sheikhdoms from all sea raids and to provide help in case of attack on land.

In 1968, the United Kingdom came up with the decision to end the treaty with the seven Trucial Sheikhdoms. The decision was reinstated in 1971 and in the end of the same year, the British control was withdrawn. On December 2, 1971, all the sheikhdoms except Ras Al Khaimah came tofetchher to form the United Arab Emirates. Ras Al Khaimah joined in the next year.

Thus the United Arab Emirates was born.

Article Source:

Author By Jasdeep Kaur

Orignal From: UAE - A Glimpse Into History

No comments:

Post a Comment